Wei Zhongle "The Operators”

$6.00 - $8.00 / On Sale

On their latest album, The Operators, Wei Zhongle achieves a natural continuation and a stark departure from their previous output. Gone is the spacious brooding of the band's most outré fare, replaced with a raw and potent funkiness, a radiant optimism, and undeniable hooks. It's no less trance-inducing than they've been at their heaviest, but it's a different sort of ecstasy, one marked by deep grooves, sinewy melodies and frenetic paces.

Wei Zhongle was born in a midwestern oasis from a love of traditional Chinese court music and general esotericism. Now they make pop music. Led by guitarist & vocal gymnast Rob Jacobs, Wei Zhongle has had four differing line-ups over five albums released with avant-taste-makers like NNA Tapes, Hairy Spider Legs, and New Atlantis. Constants Rob Jacobs and John McCowen are now joined by workhorses Pat Keen (Ramp Local) and Phil Sudderberg, adding a burrowing depth of groove to fleeting melodies and clamorous reeds.

FFO/RIYL: Dirty Projectors; Guerrilla Toss; This Heat; Horselords; Cloud Become Your Hand; Dalis Car

Phil Sudderberg - Drums & Drum Pad
Pat Keen - Fretless Bass
John McCowen - Electronic Clarinet
Rob Jacobs - Guitar & Voice

Written & Produced by Rob Jacobs
Drums written by Phil on tracks 2 & 4
Recorded by Dave Vettraino & Rob Jacobs @ Decade Studios, Heavy Petting & Rob's room
Mixed by Dave Vettraino & Rob Jacobs
Mastered by Greg Obis at CMS

Cover Photo of the Mystic Piebald Snake by Joshua Calleja
Art Design by Sam Klickner

Release date: Friday, 16 February 2018